Seapost

You will find under this heading, of course, covers on sea posts. On the one hand a lot about the transatlantic service (North Atlantic and only HAPAG - So Hamburg/Cuxhaven to New York). And the North Atlantic services of the USA - as well as all the sea mail services of the USA. All of them from the beginning (the first one started in 1891) until the end in 1939/41. After WWII, these maritime services, just with on-board post office of the corresponding postal administration, were not resumed.

Literature on the German sea posts in the North Atlantic (there was actually only the "Deutsch Amerikanische Seepost"/"US German Sea Post" - carried out together by HAPAG, Norddeutscher Lloyd and later also the United States Line) is abundant, as on most other sea posts (to the German colonies etc.).
There are only two publications on US Seaposts (there were also much fewer than German ones) - Once by Cockrill four volumes, two each on German Seapost cancels and two on US Seapost cancels. Year of publication is unknown to me and cannot be determined. And from Hosking only about the US Seaposts from 2008.

Associations dealing with maritime mail seem to exist only two worldwide. On the one hand in Germany (main occupation German sea mail) the "ArGe Schiffspost im BDPh". And in England (the book by Hosking comes from there - but main occupation is England and her former colonies - and also railroad mail) the "TPO and Seapost Society". Then on a volume of Cockrill still one in the USA is indicated, the "Maritime Philatelic Society", which I cannot find in the Internet however - to it, after inquiry with the APS, no society (i.e. of the members) on this subject is known there in the USA.

I then found another association in the USA. The "Universal Ship Cancellation Society". As far as I read on their homepage, they probably only deal with the US Navy and its ships and corresponding cancellations.
1857 – Hamburg – Aachen – Liverpool – Boston – New York

A "double-rate paid letter" written in Hamburg on April 18, 1857, postmarked at the city post office on April 22, 1857. Note at the top on the letter "Via Liverpool p Steamer of April 25". The letter was sent to the Exchange Office for the Prussian Closed Mail in Aachen. There it received the postmark "Aachen/(date)/PAID 50 cts." with the date April 23. From here it went in a closed Mail bag via Belgium to Liverpool. On April 25, 1857, the Cunard Line ship "Europa" sailed and reached Boston on May 7.

In Boston, the bag was opened on the same day and received three stamps. The first - "BOSTON/(date)/BR. PKT./ PAID", the second. stamp with an incorrect "45"(cents) as prepayment, and then the third correctly with "60"(cents) as prepayment and therefore paid in full. Since the business letter contained an invoice for a shipment of goods, it went to customs where a postmark dated 26 May 1857 was struck.

Translated from „Understanding Transatlantic Mail Vol I“)
Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021

Seepost

Sie finden unter dieser Rubrik natürlich Belege zu Seeposten. Zum einen eine Menge über den Transatlantikdienst (Nordatlantik und nur HAPAG - Also Hamburg/Cuxhaven nach New York). Und die Nordatlantikdienste der USA - sowie sämtliche Seepostdienste der USA. Alle von Beginn (der Erste begann 1891) bis zum Ende 1939/41. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg wurden diese Seeposten, eben mit Bordpostamt der entsprechenden Postverwaltung, nicht wieder aufgenommen.

Literatur zu den deutschen Seeposten im Nordatlantik (es gab eigentlich nur die "Deutsch Amerikanische Seepost"/"US German Sea Post" - ausgeführt zusammen von der HAPAG, dem Norddeutschen Lloyd und später auch der United States Line) gibt es, wie zu den meisten anderen Seeposten (zu den deutschen Kolonien etc.), reichlich.
Zu den Seeposten der USA (es waren auch sehr viel weniger als deutsche) gibt es nur zwei Veröffentlichungen - Einmal von Cockrill vier Bände, je zwei zu deutschen Seepost Stempeln und zwei zu US Seapost Stempeln. Erscheinungsjahr ist mir unbekannt und nicht zu ermitteln. Und von Hosking nur über die US Seaposts von 2008.

Vereine, die sich mit Seepost beschäftigen, scheint es weltweit nur zwei zu geben. Zum einen in Deutschland (Hauptbeschäftigung deutsche Seepost) die "ArGe Schiffspost im BDPh" und in England (das Buch von Hosking stammt daher - aber Hauptbeschäftigung sind England und ihre ehemaligen Kolonien - und auch Bahnpost) die "TPO and Seapost Society". Dann wird auf einem Band von Cockrill noch eine in den USA angegeben, die "Maritime Philatelic Society", die ich im Internet aber nicht finden kann - dazu, nach Anfrage beim APS, ist dort kein Verein (also von den Mitgliedern) zu diesem Thema in den USA bekannt.

Einen Verein habe ich in den USA dann noch gefunden. Die "Universal Ship Cancellation Society". Soweit ich auf deren Homepage lese, beschäftigen sie sich wohl nur mit der US Navy und deren Schiffen und entsprechende Abstempelungen.
1857 – Hamburg – Aachen – Liverpool – Boston – New York

Ein “double-rate paid letter”, geschrieben am 18. April 1857 in Hamburg, gestempelt im Stadtpostamt am 22. April 1857. Hinweis oben am Brief „Via Liverpool p Steamer of 25. April“. Der Brief wurde zum „Exchange Office“ für die „Prussian Closed Mail“ nach Aachen geschickt. Dort erhielt er den Stempel „Aachen/(Datum)/PAID 50 cts.“ Mit dem Datum 23. April. Von hier ging er im geschlossenen Postbeutel über Belgien nach Liverpool. Am 25. April 1857 lief das Schiff „Europa“ der Cunard Line aus und erreichte Boston am 7. Mai.

In Boston wurde der Beutel am selben Tag geöffnet und erhielt drei Stempel. Der erste – „BOSTON/(Datum)/BR. PKT./ PAID“, der zweite Stempel mit einer falschen „45“(Cents) als Vorauszahlung, und dann der dritte korrekt mit „60“(Cents) als Vorauszahlung und damit voll bezahlt. Da der Geschäftsbrief eine Rechnung für eine Warensendung enthielt, ging er zum Zoll wo ein Stempel mit dem Datum 26.May 1857 abgeschlagen wurde.

Übersetz aus „Understanding Transatlantic Mail Vol I“)
Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021