stampless cover

Here I present letters from the period ca. 1840 to ca. 1875, which either went from the USA to the German States or to the USA and, as a rule, were sent without stamps. Of course, there were already stamps (from the USA e.g. from 1847), but due to many small German states and the resulting many postal services, it was impossible for a normal postal worker in the USA to determine the total postage for a letter. As a result, the letters were sent "unpaid" and the costs incurred and the costs incurred had to be paid by the recipient.
If it was letters to Hamburg or Bremen, it became easier when Contracts with these cities and the U.S. Postal Service came into effect. Later, when the "Norddeutscher Postbezik" was founded, and of course after the foundation of the German Reich, the costs to be paid were simplified.
My letters usually went via the designated "exchange offices", Bremen, Hamburg and later, at the beginning of the "Prussian closed mail", also Aachen (more precisely "Traveling Post Office No. 10, Cologne, Verviers"), which was actually a railroad post office on the route from Cologne to Verviers in Belgium. For this contract, the mail was put into a sealed bag in Aachen, then sent via England (mostly Liverpool) to New York or Boston (the "Exchange Offices" there) and only reopened there.
For a few years, starting around 1860, there were "Exchange Offices" with corresponding stamps in other cities in the U.S., in addition to Boston and New York, which were "Exchange Offices" from beginning to end. They were: Baltimore, Chicago, Detroit, Philadelphia, Portland, Me. and San Francisco.

I have not yet "dared" to calculate the postage for my letters. I would have to have all the documents together. Well, then I still have something to do in the future.
Source reference:

Hubbard/Winter, North Atlantic Mail Sailings 1840-1875
Winter, Understanding Transatlantic Mail Vol. I + II
American Stampless Cover Catalog, Vol II, vierte Ausgabe
Mails of the Westward Expansion - 1803 to 1861, Steven C. Walske, Richard C. Frajola
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butterfield_Overland_Mail

Bremen - Aachen – New York – Salem 12.07.1856

Postmark from Bremen City Post Office dated 12. July - Handwritten in the upper margin "By the first steamer from Bremen to New York" with "from Bremen" crossed out.
Postmark of Aachen dated 13 July - Aachen/(date)/ 5 cts. - this means the letter was routed via England by "Prussian Closed Mail".
Probably Left Southampton with the Ocean Line ship "Washington" on 16. July 1856 and reached New York on 30. July 1856. Postmark NEW YORK/ AM. PKT./(date)/30 - with date 31. July(1856). This ship came from Bremen, but left Bremen on 12. July, the date of the postmark of the Bremen city post office. Probably the letter missed the ship in Bremen.
Addressed to Salem, Forsyth County, North Carolina. No arrival stamp. Handwritten note "received 3th Aug".

Bremen - Aachen – New York – Salem 12.07.1856

Back to first letter: Sender and place/date: Bremen - 11.July 1856.

Bremen - Aachen – New York – Salem 31.10.1856

Postmark from Bremen city post office dated 31 October - Handwritten in the upper margin "By the first steamer from Bremen to New York".
Sailed from Bremen on the Ocean Line ship "Washington" on 01 Nov 1856 and arrived in New York on 20 Nov 1856. Postmark NEW YORK/ U.S. PKT./(date)/10 - dated 21 Nov(1856). Addressed to Salem, Forsyth County, North Carolina. No arrival postmark.

Same sender and recipient as the first letter. Interesting the postmarks of New York: on 31. July "30" cents for passage by ship, as "Prussian Closed Mail" and therefore routed via England - on 21. November "10" cents for passage by ship, as directly from Bremen to New York.

Hamburg – Aachen – Liverpool – Boston – New York - 18.04.1857

A "double rate letter" written in Hamburg on April 18, 1857, postmarked at the city post office on April 22, 1857. notation at the top of the letter "Via Liverpool p Steamer of April 25".
The letter was sent to the "Exchange Office" for the "Prussian Closed Mail" in Aachen. There it received the postmark "Aachen/(date)/PAID 50 cts." Dated April 23. From here it went in a closed mail bag via Belgium to Liverpool. On April 25, 1857, the Cunard Line ship "Europa" sailed, reaching Boston on May 7.
In Boston, the bag was opened the same day and received three postmarks. The first - "BOSTON/(date)/BR. PKT./ PAID", the second stamp with an incorrect "45"(cents) as prepayment, and then the third correctly with "60"(cents) as prepayment and thus paid in full.
Since the business letter contained an invoice for a shipment of goods, it went to customs where a postmark dated 26 May 1857 was struck.

Translated from "Understanding Transatlantic Mail Vol I".

New Orleans - Boston - Liverpool - Aachen - Oker Kreis Goslar - 28.09.1858?

Very faint postmark New Orleans 28 September 1858 ??. Handwritten "per Hamburg Steamer", but HAPAG did not go to Boston. So "Prussian closed Mail", because via Aachen and before Liverpool. The letter was carried by the Cunard Line (br. Packet) with the steamer "Niagara" - departure in Boston 06. October 1858 - arrival in Liverpool 17. October 1858. Postmark from Aachen 19. October 1858.

New Orleans - Boston - Liverpool - Aachen - Oker Kreis Goslar - 28.09.1858?

Back: postmark of Boston 06. October 1858/br. Packet. Arrival postmark Oker near Goslar 21. October 1858.

Syracuse – New York – Bremen – Tübingen – Rottenburg – 02.09.1858

The letter was posted in Syracuse, N.Y. on 02. September 1858 (black - unpaid). Then went to New York, postmarked 04. September 1858/14/US Packet (unpaid). Sailed on the Vanderbilt European Line ship "S.S. Ariel", which left New York on 04. September 1858 and arrived in Bremen on 22. September 1858. The postmark "24/9 KRZ AMERICA ÜBER BREMEN" is from the Hanover post office in Bremen - 24 kr. Seepost - 9 kr. to Württemberg.

Syracuse – New York – Bremen – Tübingen – Rottenburg – 02.09.1858

Back: postmark Tübingen 24. September 1858 - postmark WÜRTT. TRAIN. POSTAMT 24. September 1858 Z 3 (train 3), railroad post - arrival postmark Rottenburg on 24. September 1858.

Hamburg – New York – Charleston – 10.03.1868

Postmarked in Hamburg on 10. March 1868 with red "F" (Franco) stamp of the Prussian post office with the number "1", which was meant for letter mail. Then there is a green stamp "FRANCO", where I only found out that it should mean "consignment franked by the sender handed over to others by the Prussian Post Office".
Departed Hamburg on the HAPAG ship "Allemania", as handwritten above, on 11. March 1868. Arrived New York on 25. March 1868. Postmarked in New York on 26.??, probably March. No arrival postmark from Charleston.

Glauchau – Leipzig – Aachen – New York – 16.02.1861

Postmark of Glauchau from 16. February 1861. Then on the reverse postmark of Leipzig from 17. February 1861. Further with the railroad and railroad postmark, also on the reverse, "LEIPZIG-MAGDEBURG/17.02.(1861). Postmark Aachen from 18.02.(1861) 5cts - So "Prussian Closed Mail" via England. Probably Norddeutscher Lloyd the ship "Bremen", on 20. February 1861 from Southampton, arriving in New York on 07. March 1861. Arrival postmark New York from 08. March(1861)/Am. Pkt./30.

Glauchau – Leipzig – Aachen – New York – 16.02.1861

Back: postmark of Leipzig dated 17. February 1861. Further with the railroad and railroad postmark "LEIPZIG-MAGDEBURG/17.02.(1861).

Chicago - Hamburg - Essen – 27.09.1873

City postmark of Chicago dated 27 Sep (1873) - reverse: postmark "Chicago direct" dated 30 Sep (1873), a "maritime mail marking" (stampless cover catalog). There are such postmarks from 4 or 5 cities other than NY or Boston, which mean that these cities were also an "office of exchange" at the time, like NY and Boston. In the publication of Hubbard/Winter only the "exchange markings" of NY are shown in great detail. In the "stampless cover catalog" the ones of the other cities can be found.
It sailed the "Cimbria" of Hapag from New York on 02. October 1873 to Plymouth 13. October 1873. Alternative: Cunard - ship "Algeria" from New York on 01. October 1873 in Liverpool on 12. October 1873. It is still unclear to me with which ship the letter was sailed.

Arrival postmark from Hamburg 15.10.73 9-10 V. Then arrival postmark from Essen "Essen/R. B. Düsseldorf/161073 5-7 N".

Chicago - Hamburg - Essen – 27.09.1873

Reverse: postmark "Chicago direct" dated 30 Sep (1873), a "maritime mail marking" (stampless cover catalog). There are such postmarks from 4 or 5 cities other than New York or Boston, which mean that these cities were also an "office of exchange" at the time, like New York and Boston. In the publication of Hubbard/Winter only the "exchange markings" of New York are shown in great detail. In the "stampless cover catalog" the ones of the other cities can be found.

1860 – Ann Arbor – New York – Southampton – Aachen – Stuttgart – Nagold - Garrweiler, Württemberg – 31.07.1860

Postmark of Ann Arbor dated 31. July 1860. Then postmark of New York/23/Am. Pkt./04. August (1860). Departure of the steamer "Bremen" of Norddeutscher Lloyd on 04. August 1860 and arrival in Southampton on 17. August 1860. Further to Aachen, postmark of 18. August 1860. Then with the railroad mail, postmark K. Württemb. Fahr. Postamt/19.08.(1860)/ Z 13. Arrival in Stuttgart on 19.??./1860. In Nagold probably postmarked 20. August 1860. Addressed to Garrweiler, Oberamt Nagold.

1860 – Ann Arbor – New York – Southampton – Aachen – Stuttgart – Nagold - Garrweiler, Württemberg – 31.07.1860

Back: postmark of Aachen, postmark of the railroad post office, postmark of Stuttgart and (presumably) of Nagold.

Galena - New York - Havre - Strassburg - Flein, Oberamt Heilbronn - 07.10.1850

Stamped in "GALENA/ILLs./6.OCT" (The "A" at the end is very hard to see. A small piece from the lower right. Correspondingly, the "s" at "ILLs" is only very faintly visible). Then to New York, postmark "NEW YORK/20.OCT" in red. Then on to Havre, postmark "Havre XX.NOV.1850".
Noticed in handwriting "via New York and Havre - via Strasbourg".

On 20 Oct.1850 only one ship went from "New York" - steamer "Hermann" of the Ocean-Line - via "Southampton" to "Bremen" - but no dates for these ports - but footnote: the mail of this ship (thus also this letter) was taken by the "Arctic" of the Collins Line on 27 Oct.1850 from New York to Liverpool - arrival 7 NOV.1850(Hubbard/Winter). Date in the postmark of "Havre" could, with a lot of imagination and goodwill, be 11.NOV.1850 - that of "Paris" probably 12.NOV.1850.

I suspect that the mailbag was opened in "Liverpool" and based on the routing note and this route is also faster than via "Bremen", the letter was sent to France (Havre).

Galena - New York - Havre - Strassburg - Flein, Oberamt Heilbronn - 07.10.1850

Back: stamp "Paris, probably 12.NOV.1850".

Mainz - Aachen - Liverpool - New York - San Francisco - 18.01.1861

Letter from Mainz, postmarked 18. January 1861. Then by Mainz/Cologne railroad mail to Aachen (datm illegible). Postmark Aachen - "AACHEN/DATUM/ 5 Cts." Date probably the 19. January 1861. Carried from Liverpool by the Inman Line ship "Vigo" on 23 Jan 1861 from Liverpool and arriving in New York on 8 Feb 1861 (postmark of New York 9 Feb).

In February 1861, at which time this letter arrived here, letters to California were transported overland by the "Southern Butterfield Route". Since the beginning/end points of this line were St. Louis and Memphis, the letter had to be taken to St. Louis by rail. It left New York on February 9 or 10, 1861.
It left St. Louis by stagecoach on the "Southern Butterfield Route" around February 12-16 and reached San Francisco around March 7-8.
It was "advertised" in the newspaper after 2 weeks, on 22. March 1861, as it had not been picked up at the post office.
Since there are no postmarks of a return, this letter must have been picked up then.

Mainz - Aachen - Liverpool - New York - San Francisco - 18.01.1861

Back: postmark of Mainz, the railroad post office Mainz/Cologne and the postmark "San Francisco, Advertised".


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021

stampless cover

Hier stelle ich Briefe aus dem Zeitraum von ca. 1840 bis ca. 1875 vor, die entweder von den USA nach den deutschen Staaten oder nach den USA gegangen sind und, in der Regel, ohne Briefmarken verschickt wurden. Natürlich gab es schon Briefmarken (von den USA z.B. ab 1847), aber durch vielen kleinen deutschen Staaten und den daraus resultierenden vielen Postdiensten, war für einen normalen Postbediensteten in den USA das Gesamtporto für einen Brief nicht zu bestimmen. Daraus folgte, dass die Briefe "unpaid" verschickt wurden und die entstandenen Kosten vom Empfänger zu zahlen waren.
Wenn es Briefe nach Hamburg oder Bremen waren, wurde es leichter, als Contracte mit diesen Städten und der US-Post in Kraft traten. Auch später bei der Gründung des "Norddeutschen Postbeziks", und natürlich nach der Reichsgründung, vereinfachten sich natürlich die zu zahlenden Kosten.
Meine Briefe liefen in der Regel über die festgelegten "exchange offices", Bremen, Hamburg und später, bei Beginn der "Prussian closed Mail", auch Aachen (genauer "Traveling Post Office No. 10, Cologne, Verviers"), welches eigentlich ein Bahnpostamt auf der Strecke von Köln nach Verviers in Belgien war. Denn bei diesem Contract wurde die Post in Aachen in einen verschlossenen Beutel/Sack getan, dann über England (meistens Liverpool) nach New York oder Boston (die dortigen "Exchange Offices") geschickt und erst dort wieder geöffnet.
Für einige Jahre, so ab ca. 1860, gab es in weiteren Städten der USA, zusätzlich zu Boston und New York, die vom Anfang bis zum Ende "Exchange Offices" waren, "Exchange Offices" mit entsprechenden Stempeln. Es waren: Baltimore, Chicago, Detroit, Philadelphia, Portland, Me. und San Francisco.

An die Berechnung des Portos meiner Briefe habe ich mich noch nicht "ran getraut". Ich müsste alle Unterlagen dafür zusammen haben. Na, dann habe ich noch etwas in Zukunft zu tun.
Quellen:

Hubbard/Winter, North Atlantic Mail Sailings 1840-1875
Winter, Understanding Transatlantic Mail Vol. I + II
American Stampless Cover Catalog, Vol II, vierte Ausgabe
Mails of the Westward Expansion - 1803 to 1861, Steven C. Walske, Richard C. Frajola
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butterfield_Overland_Mail

Bremen - Aachen – New York – Salem 12.07.1856

Stempel vom Stadtpostamt Bremen vom 12.07. – Handschriftlich am oben Rand „By the first steamer from Bremen to New York“ wobei „from Bremen” durchgestrichen ist.
Stempel von Aachen vom 13.7. – Aachen/(Datum)/ 5 cts. – das bedeutet der Brief wurde per „Prussian Closed Mail“ über England geleitet.
Wahrscheinlich Mit dem Schiff „Washington” der Ocean Line am 16.07.1856 von Southampton ausgelaufen und erreichte New York am 30.07.1856. Stempel NEW YORK/ AM. PKT./(Datum)/30 – mit Datum 31.07.(1856). Dieses Schiff kam von Bremen, verlies Bremen aber am 12.07. dem Datum des Stempels des Bremer Stadtpostamtes. Wahrscheinlich hat der Brief das Schiff in Bremen verpasst.
Adressiert nach Salem, Forsyth County, North Carolina. Kein Ankunftsstempel.Handschriftlich vermerkt “erhalten den 3th Aug“.

Bremen - Aachen – New York – Salem 12.07.1856

Rückseite zu erstem Brief: Absender und Ort/Datum: Bremen – 11.July 1856.

Bremen - Aachen – New York – Salem 31.10.1856

Stempel vom Stadtpostamt Bremen vom 31.10. – Handschriftlich am oben Rand „By the first steamer from Bremen to New York“.
Mit dem Schiff „Washington” der Ocean Line am 01.11.1856 von Bremen ausgelaufen und erreichte New York am 20.11.1856. Stempel NEW YORK/ U.S. PKT./(Datum)/10 – mit Datum 21.11.(1856). Adressiert nach Salem, Forsyth County, North Carolina. Kein Ankunftsstempel.

Selber Absender und Empfänger wie der erste Brief. Interessant die Stempel von New York: am 31.07. „30“ Cent für Schiffsüberfahrt, da „Prussian Closed Mail“ und daher über England geleitet – am 21.11. „10“ Cent für Schiffsüberfahrt, da direkt von Bremen nach New York.

Hamburg – Aachen – Liverpool – Boston – New York - 18.04.1857

Ein “double-rate paid letter”, geschrieben am 18. April 1857 in Hamburg, gestempelt im Stadtpostamt am 22. April 1857. Hinweis oben am Brief „Via Liverpool p Steamer of 25. April“.
Der Brief wurde zum „Exchange Office“ für die „Prussian Closed Mail“ nach Aachen geschickt. Dort erhielt er den Stempel „Aachen/(Datum)/PAID 50 cts.“ Mit dem Datum 23. April. Von hier ging er im geschlossenen Postbeutel über Belgien nach Liverpool. Am 25. April 1857 lief das Schiff „Europa“ der Cunard Line aus und erreichte Boston am 7. Mai.
In Boston wurde der Beutel am selben Tag geöffnet und erhielt drei Stempel. Der erste – „BOSTON/(Datum)/BR. PKT./ PAID“, der zweite Stempel mit einer falschen „45“(Cents) als Vorauszahlung, und dann der dritte korrekt mit „60“(Cents) als Vorauszahlung und damit voll bezahlt.
Da der Geschäftsbrief eine Rechnung für eine Warensendung enthielt, ging er zum Zoll wo ein Stempel mit dem Datum 26.May 1857 abgeschlagen wurde.

Übersetzt aus „Understanding Transatlantic Mail Vol I“

New Orleans - Boston - Liverpool - Aachen - Oker Kreis Goslar - 28.09.1858?

Ganz schwacher Stempel New Orleans 28.09.1858 ??. Handschriftlich “per Hamburg Steamer”, aber die HAPAG fuhr nicht nach Boston. Also „Prussian closed Mail“, weil über Aachen und vorher Liverpool. Der Brief wurde von der Cunard Line(br. Packet) befördert mit dem Steamer "Niagara" - Abfahrt in Boston 06.10.1858 - Ankunft in Liverpool 17.10.1858. Stempel von Aachen 19.10.1858.

New Orleans - Boston - Liverpool - Aachen - Oker Kreis Goslar - 28.09.1858?

Rückseite: Stempel von Boston 06.10.1858/br. Packet. Ankunftsstempel Oker bei Goslar 21.10.1858.

Syracuse – New York – Bremen – Tübingen – Rottenburg – 02.09.1858

Der Brief wurde aufgegeben in Syracuse, N.Y. am 02.09.1858 (schwarz - unpaid). Ging dann nach New York, gestempelt am 04.09.1858/14/US Packet (unpaid). Fuhr mit dem Schiff "S.S. Ariel" der Vanderbilt European Line, das New York am 04.09.1858 verließ und am 22.09.1858 in Bremen ankam. Der Stempel "24/9 KRR AMERICA ÜBER BREMEN" stammt vom hannoverschen Postamt in Bremen - 24 kr. Seepost - 9 kr. nach Württemberg.

Syracuse – New York – Bremen – Tübingen – Rottenburg – 02.09.1858

Rückseite: Stempel Tübingen 24.09.1858 - Stempel WÜRTT. FAHREND. POSTAMT 24.09.1858 Z 3 (Zug 3), Bahnpost - Ankunftsstempel Rottenburg am 24.09.1858.

Hamburg – New York – Charleston – 10.03.1868

Gestempelt in Hamburg am 10.03.1868 mit rotem "F" (Franco) Stempel des preußischen Postamtes mit der Nr. "1", welcher für Briefsendungen gedacht war. Dann ist dort noch ein grüner Stempel "FRANCO", wo ich nur herausgefunden habe, dass er bedeuten soll "vom Absender freigemachte Sendung von der preußischen Post an andere übergeben".
Abfahrt von Hamburg mit dem Schiff "Allemania" der HAPAG, wie handschriftlich oben angegeben, am 11.03.1868. Ankunft in New York am 25.03.1868. Gestempelt in New York am 26.??, wohl März. Kein Ankunftsstempel von Charleston.

Glauchau – Leipzig – Aachen – New York – 16.02.1861

Stempel von Glauchau vom 16.02.1861. Dann rückseitig Stempel von Leipzig vom 17.02.1861. Weiter mit der Bahn und Bahnpoststempel, auch rückseitig, „LEIPZIG-MAGDEBURG/17.02.(1861). Stempel Aachen vom 18.02.(1861) 5cts – Also „Prussian Closed Mail“ über England. Wahrscheinlich Norddeutscher Lloyd das Schiff „Bremen“, am 20.02.1861 von Southampton, Ankunft in New York am 07.03.1861. Ankunftsstempel New York vom 08.03.(1861)/Am. Pkt./30.

Glauchau – Leipzig – Aachen – New York – 16.02.1861

Rückseite: Stempel von Leipzig vom 17.02.1861. Weiter mit der Bahn und Bahnpoststempel „LEIPZIG-MAGDEBURG/17.02.(1861).

Chicago - Hamburg - Essen – 27.09.1873

Ortsstempel von Chicago vom 27. Sep (1873) - Rückseite: Stempel "Chicago direct" vom 30. Sep (1873), ein "maritime mail marking" (stampless cover catalog). Es gibt von 4 oder 5 anderen Städten als NY oder Boston solche Stempel, die bedeuten, dass diese Städte zu der Zeit auch ein "office of exchange" waren, wie NY und Boston. In der Publikation von Hubbard/Winter sind nur die "exchange markings" von NY sehr ausführlich dargestellt. Im "stampless cover catalog" sind die der anderen Städte zu finden.
Es fuhr die "Cimbria" der Hapag von New York am 02.10.1873 nach Plymouth 13.10.1873. Alternative: Cunard - Schiff "Algeria" von New York am 01.10.1873 in Liverpool am 12.10.1873. Mir ist noch unklar mit welchem Schiff der Brief gefahren wurde.

Ankunftsstempel von Hamburg 15.10.73 9-10 V. Dann Ankunftsstempel von Essen "Essen/R. B. Düsseldorf/161073 5-7 N".

Chicago - Hamburg - Essen – 27.09.1873

Rückseite: Stempel "Chicago direct" vom 30. Sep (1873), ein "maritime mail marking" (stampless cover catalog). Es gibt von 4 oder 5 anderen Städten als New York oder Boston solche Stempel, die bedeuten, dass diese Städte zu der Zeit auch ein "office of exchange" waren, wie New York und Boston. In der Publikation von Hubbard/Winter sind nur die "exchange markings" von New York sehr ausführlich dargestellt. Im "stampless cover catalog" sind die der anderen Städte zu finden.

1860 – Ann Arbor – New York – Southampton – Aachen – Stuttgart – Nagold - Garrweiler, Württemberg – 31.07.1860

Stempel von Ann Arbor vom 31.07.1860. Dann Stempel von New York/23/Am. Pkt./04.08.(1860). Abfahrt des Dampfers "Bremen" des Norddeutschen Lloyd am 04.08.1860 und Ankuft in Southampton am 17.08.1860. Weiter nach Aachen, Stempel vom 18.08.1860. Dann mit der Bahnpost, Stempel K. Württemb. Fahr. Postamt/19.08.(1860)/ Z 13. Ankunft in Stuttgart am 19.??./1860. In Nagold vermutlich gestempelt am 20.08.1860. Adressiert nach Garrweiler, Oberamt Nagold.

1860 – Ann Arbor – New York – Southampton – Aachen – Stuttgart – Nagold - Garrweiler, Württemberg – 31.07.1860

Rückseite: Stempel von Aachen, Stempel der Bahnpost, Stempel von Stuttgart und (vermutlich) von Nagold.

Galena - New York - Havre - Strassburg - Flein, Oberamt Heilbronn - 07.10.1850

Gestempelr in „GALENA/ILLs./6.OCT“ (Das „A“ am Ende ist nur ganz schwer zu sehen. Ein kleines Stück von rechts unten. Entsprechend ist das „s“ bei „ILLs“ nur ganz schwach zu sehen). Dann nach New York, Stempel „NEW YORK/20.OCT“ in rot. Dann weiter nach Havre, Stempel „Havre XX.NOV.1850“.
Handschriftlich vermerkt „via New York und Havre – via Strasbourg“.

Am 20. Oct.1850 ging nur ein Schiff von „New York“ – Dampfer „Hermann“ der Ocean-Line – über „Southampton“ nach „Bremen“ – aber keine Daten für diese Häfen – dafür Fußnote: die Post dieses Schiffes (also auch dieser Brief) wurde von der „Arctic“ der Collins Line am 27.Oct.1850 von New York nach Liverpool mitgenommen – Ankunft 7.NOV.1850(Hubbard/Winter). Datum im Stempel von „Havre“ könnte, mit viel Phantasie und Wohlwollen, der 11.NOV.1850 sein – der von „Paris“ wohl der 12.NOV.1850.

Ich vermute, dass der Postsack in „Liverpool“ geöffnet wurde und auf Grund des Leitvermerks und diese Route auch schneller ist, als über „Bremen“, der Brief nach Frankreich (Havre) geschickt wurde.

Galena - New York - Havre - Strassburg - Flein, Oberamt Heilbronn - 07.10.1850

Rückseite: Stempel „Paris, wahrscheinlich 12.NOV.1850“.

Mainz - Aachen - Liverpool - New York - San Francisco - 18.01.1861

Brief von Mainz, gestempelt am 18.01.1861. Dann mit der Bahnpost Mainz/Cöln nach Aachen (Datm unleserlich). Stempel Aachen - "AACHEN/DATUM/ 5 Cts." Datum wahrscheinlich der 19.01.1861. Von Liverpool befördert mit dem Schiff "Vigo" der Inman Line am 23. Jan 1861 ab Liverpool und Ankunft in New York am 8. Feb 1861 (Stempel von New York 9. Feb.).

Im Februar 1861, zu dem dieser Brief hier ankam, wurden Briefe nach Kalifornien von der „Southern Butterfield Route“ über Land transportiert. Da die Anfangs-/Endpunkte dieser Linie St. Louis und Memphis waren, musste der Brief mit der Bahn nach St. Louis gebracht werden. Er verlies New York am 9. oder 10. Februar 1861.
Er verließ mit der Postkutsche der „Southern Butterfield Route“ St. Louis um den 12. bis 16. Februar und erreichte San Francisco um den 7./8. März.
Er wurde nach 2 Wochen, am 22.03.1861, in der Zeitung "beworben" (advertised), da er nicht beim Postamt abgeholt worden war.
Da es keine Stempel einer Rücksendung gibt, ist dieser Brief dann wohl abgeholt worden.

Mainz - Aachen - Liverpool - New York - San Francisco - 18.01.1861

Rückseite: Stempel von Mainz, der Bahnpost Mainz/Cöln und der Stempel "San Francisco, Advertised".


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021