US German Sea Post 1891 - 1914

Quote from the "Dienstanweisung für die Seeposten zwischen Bremen bzw. Hamburg und New York", Berlin 1893.

[Quote]

§ 1 - Designation and purpose of the sea posts.

The sea posts operating on the German fast steamers between Bremen and Hamburg, on the one hand, and New York, on the other, constitute a joint institution of the German Imperial Postal Administration and the Postal Administration of the United States of America; they bear in the direction from New York the designation "Deutsch-Amerikanische Seepost Bremen (bz. Hamburg) - New York", in the direction from New York to Germany the designation "Amerikanisch-Deutsche Seepost Bremen (bz. Hamburg) - New York".

§ 2 - Personnel of the sea posts

I. The personnel of the Seapost shall, as a rule, consist on each steamer of one German and one American postal clerk, and of one German postal sub-officer. In the direction to America, the German, and in the direction to Germany, the American official directs the business and accordingly bears responsibility for the mail load.

.........

§ 11 - Processing of mail.

l. The forms of operational service, mutual transfer, etc., shall be governed by the implementing provisions of the Universal Postal Convention, in such a way that the Seapost, with respect to the performance of the service in the direction of Germany, shall be regarded as a Post Office of the United States, and in the direction to America as a German Post Office.

[End quote]

Only fast steamers of North German Lloyd and the Hamburg-America Line were involved and ended with the outbreak of World War I.
This Seapost began on March 24,1891 with the departure of the Havel of North German Lloyd to New York.

The "change" of post office occurred upon reaching the other country's sea area.

The postal staff had to be provided with space by the shipping company to process the mail, which was also used as a post office for the passengers. A larger room for processing the mail and with sleeping accommodations for two people. A packing chamber to house the mail bags. The mail sub clerk was given a sleeping place in another sleeping chamber. The shipping companies also had to provide cleaning, heating and lighting for the rooms.

I only collect covers from ships of HAL and from the voyage towards Europe, i.e. with American post office, and thus I only show such here.

Source reference:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA


Correctly franked foreign cover to Hamburg (foreign country, 5 cents), cancelled on October 14, 1897 on board of the steamer "S.S. Auguste Victoria" of the Hamburg Amerika Linie with duplex handstamp on the voyage from New York to Hamburg before reaching the canal ports. The number in the killer can only be guessed, but should be a 5.
Left New York on October 07, 1897 and reached the canal ports on October 14, 1897 and Hamburg on October 15, 1897.
Postmark on reverse from the postal expedition of the Hamburg suburb of Rothenburgsort. Text in three lines - in the third line there is an asterisk next to ORT on the left, and an "a" on the right. Time: 5 - 6 o'clock in the afternoon.
Overstamped domestic postcard to Batavia, N.Y. (domestic, 1 cent), cancelled on December 18, 1901 on board of the steamer "S.S. Deutschland" of the Hamburg America Line with duplex handstamp on the voyage from New York to Hamburg. The number in the killer is 11. In Cockrill's Handbook No. 54 about the Transatlantic Routes, this ship is not listed in this year with this number in the killer. In the work Deutsche See- und Schiffspost 1886-1945, Volume IV by Steinmeyer/Evers the number 11 is listed for this voyage.
It left New York on December 12, 1901 and arrived in Hamburg on December 19, 1901. On the date of the postmark, this ship reached Plymouth, where the card was put ashore to be taken back to the USA. The card reached New York on December 29, 1901, as evidenced by the postmark on the image page proves.
A rare card cover, cancelled on April 29, 1903 aboard the steamer "S.S. Auguste Victoria" of the Hamburg Amerika Linie with a handstamp on the voyage from New York to Cuxhaven. The number in the killer cannot be seen, must be 12 according to literature. Above arrival machine postmark from Connellsville, PA. dated May 09, 1903. Departed New York on April 23, 1903. steamer reached the canal ports on May 01, 1903, where the letter was put ashore for forwarding to New York, and reached Cuxhaven on May 02, 1903.

"A card letter is a cardboard thick sheet to be folded with gummed and generally perforated edges. The recipient tears off the gummed edge to open it." Large Encyclopedia of Philately, Häger

On the back of the card letter the image of the steamer "S.S. Auguste Victoria" and portrait of the captain "Carl Kaempff".
Overstamped domestic postcard to Bronxville, N. Y. (domestic, 1 cent), postmarked Aug. 23, 1906 aboard the steamer "S.S. Auguste Victoria" of the Hamburg Amerika Linie with handstamp on the voyage from New York to Cuxhaven one day before reaching the canal ports. The number in the killer is a 17.

Sailed from New York on Aug. 16, 1906, the steamer reached the canal ports on Aug. 24, 1906, and Cuxhaven on Aug. 25, 1906.

In the canal ports, this card was put ashore so that it could be taken by a ship in the opposite direction. This allowed the postcard to reach its destination in the USA more quickly.

Top left arrival postmark from Bronxville, N. Y. on Sept. 03, 1906.
Overstamped domestic postcard to St. Louis, Mo. (domestic, 1 cent), postmarked June 27, 1907 aboard the steamer "S.S. Amerika" of the Hamburg Amerika Linie with handstamp on the voyage from New York to Cuxhaven one day before reaching the canal ports. The number in the killer is a 15.

Sailed from New York on June 20, 1907, the steamer reached the canal ports on June 28, 1907, and Cuxhaven on June 30, 1907.
Overstamped domestic cover to Cincinnati, Ohio (domestic, 2 cents), cancelled July 16, 1910 aboard the steamer "S.S. Amerika" of the Hamburg America Line with handstamp on the voyage from New York to Cuxhaven one day before reaching the canal ports. The number in the killer is a 15.

Sailed from New York on July 09, 1910, the steamer reached the canal ports on July 16, 1910, and Cuxhaven on July 17, 1910.
Correctly franked foreign cover to Kienzberg in Bohemia (foreign country, 5 cents), cancelled on October 30, 1910 aboard the steamship "S.S. Amerika" of the Hamburg Amerika Linie with handstamp on the voyage from New York to Cuxhaven one day before reaching Cuxhaven. The number in the killer is a 15.

Sailed from New York on October 22, 1910, the steamer reached the canal ports on October 30, 1910, and Cuxhaven on October 31, 1910.
Overstamped domestic postcard. Postage to Connecticut (domestic, 1 cent), cancelled June 21, 1914 aboard the Steamship "S.S. Vaterland" of the Hamburg Amerika Linie with duplex handstamp on the third last voyage before the war from New York to Cuxhaven while reaching the canal ports. The number in the killer is an 18.

Given ashore there to be taken to New York on a ship of the opposite direction. Left New York on June 16, 1914 and reached Cuxhaven on June 23, 1914.
Correctly franked domestic postcard, but incorrectly tax postmarked (tax postmark - with the same number (17) as the duplex postmark), to San Jose, Cal. (domestic, 1 cent), postmarked Aug. 08, 1912 aboard the steamer "S.S. Auguste Victoria" of the Hamburg America Line with handstamp on the voyage from New York to Cuxhaven one day before reaching the canal ports. The number in the killer is a 17.

Sailed from New York on August 01, 1912, the steamer reached the canal ports on August 09, 1912, and Cuxhaven on August 10, 1912.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021

US German Sea Post 1891 - 1914

Zitat aus der „Dienstanweisung für die Seeposten zwischen Bremen bzw. Hamburg und New York“, Berlin 1893.

[Zitat]

§ 1 - Bezeichnung und Zweck der Seeposten

Die auf den Deutschen Schnelldampfern zwischen Bremen und Hamburg einerseits und New York andererseits verkehrenden Seeposten bilden eine gemeinsame Einrichtung der Deutschen Reichspostverwaltung und der Postverwaltung der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika; sie führen in der Richtung von Deutschland nach New York die Bezeichnung „Deutsch-Amerikanische Seepost Bremen (bz. Hamburg) - New York“, in der Richtung von New York nach Deutschland die Bezeichnung „Amerikanisch-Deutsche Seepost New York - Bremen (bz. Hamburg)“.

§ 2 - Personal der Seeposten

I. Das Personal der Seepost besteht in der Regel auf jedem Dampfer aus einem Deutschen und einem Amerikanischem Postbeamten, sowie aus einem Deutschen Post-Unterbeamten. In der Richtung nach Amerika leitet der Deutsche, in der Richtung nach Deutschland der Amerikanische Beamte die Geschäfte und trägt demgemäß die Verantwortung für die Postladung.

………

§ 11 - Bearbeitung der Post.

l. Die Formen des Betriebsdienstes, der gegenseitigen Uebergabe u. s. w. regeln sich nach den Ausführungs-Bestimmungen zu dem Weltpostvertrage, dergestalt, dass die Seepost in Bezug auf die Ausübung des Dienstes in der Richtung nach Deutschland als eine Postanstalt der Vereinigten Staaten, in der Richtung nach Amerika als eine Deutsche Postanstalt zu betrachten ist.

[Zitat Ende]

Beteiligt waren nur Schnelldampfer des Norddeutschen Lloyd und der Hamburg-Amerika-Linie und endete mit Ausbruch des ersten Weltkrieges.
Diese Seepost begann am 24.März 1891 mit der Abfahrt der Havel des Norddeutschen Lloyd nach New York.

Der "Wechsel" des Postamtes erfolgte bei Erreichen des Seegebiets des anderen Landes.

Dem Postpersonal musste von Seiten der Reederei für die Bearbeitung der Post Räumlichkeiten zur Verfügung gestellt werden, die auch als Postamt für die Passagiere genutzt wurden. Ein größerer Raum für die Bearbeitung der Post und mit Schlafplätzen für zwei Personen. Eine Packkammer zur Unterbringung der Postbeutel. Der Post-Unterbeamte erhielt einen Schlafplatz in einer anderen Schlafkammer. Die Schifffahrtsgesellschaften hatten auch für Reinigung, Heizung und Beleuchtung der Räume zu sorgen.

Ich sammel nur Belege von Schiffen der HAL und von der Fahrt Richtung Europa, also mit amerikanischem Postamt, und somit zeige ich hier auch nur solche.

Quellen:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA


Korrekt frankierter Auslandsbrief nach Hamburg (Ausland, 5 Cent), gestempelt am 14.10.1897 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Auguste Victoria“ der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Duplex-Handstempel auf der Fahrt von New York nach Hamburg vor erreichen der Kanalhäfen. Die Nummer im Killer ist nur zu erahnen, müsste aber eine 5 sein.
Verließ New York am 07.10.1897 und erreichte die Kanalhäfen am 14.10.1897 und Hamburg am 15.10.1897.
Rückseitiger Stempel von der Postexpedition des Hamburger Vororts Hamburg-Rothenburgsort. Text in drei Zeilen - in der dritten Zeile befindet sich neben ORT links ein Stern, rechts ein „a“. Uhrzeit: 5 - 6 Uhr Nachmittags.
Überfrankierte Inlandspostkarte nach Batavia, N.Y. (Inland, 1 Cent), gestempelt am 18.12.1901 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Deutschland“ der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Duplex-Handstempel auf der Fahrt von New York nach Hamburg. Die Nummer im Killer ist eine 11. Im Handbook No. 54 von Cockrill über die Transatlantic Routes ist dieses Schiff in diesem Jahr mit dieser Nummer im Killer nicht verzeichnet. Im Werk Deutsche See- und Schiffspost 1886-1945, Band IV von Steinmeyer/Evers ist für diese Reise die Nummer 11 aufgeführt.
Es verließ New York am 12.12.1901 und erreichte Hamburg am 19.12.1901. Am Datum des Stempels erreichte dieses Schiff Plymouth, wo die Karte zur Mitnahme zurück in die USA an Land gegeben wurde. Die Karte erreichte New York am 29.12.1901, wie der Stempel auf der Bildseite beweist.
Ein seltener Kartenbrief, gestempelt am 29.04.1903 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Auguste Victoria” der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Handstempel auf der Fahrt von New York nach Cuxhaven. Die Nummer im Killer ist nicht zu erkennen, muss laut Literatur die 12 sein. Oben Ankunfts-Maschinenstempel aus Connellsville, PA. vom 09.05.1903. Ausgelaufen aus New York am 23.04.1903 erreichte der Dampfer die Kanalhäfen am 01.05.1903, wo der Brief zur Weiterleitung nach New York an Land gegeben wurde, und erreichte Cuxhaven am 02.05.1903.

„Ein Kartenbrief ist ein zu faltendes kartonstarkes Blatt mit gummiertem und im allgemeinen perforiertem Rand. Der Empfänger reißt den verklebten Rand zur Öffnung ab.“ Großes Lexikon der Philatelie, Häger

Auf der Rückseite des Kartenbriefs die Abbildung des Dampfers „S.S. Auguste Victoria“ und Porträt des Kapitäns „Carl Kaempff“.
Überfrankierte Inlandspostkarte nach Bronxville, N. Y. (Inland, 1 Cent), gestempelt am 23.08.1906 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Auguste Victoria“ der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Handstempel auf der Fahrt von New York nach Cuxhaven einen Tag vor dem erreichen der Kanalhäfen. Die Nummer im Killer ist eine 17.

Ausgelaufen aus New York am 16.08.1906 erreichte der Dampfer die Kanalhäfen am 24.08.1906 und Cuxhaven am 25.08.1906.

In den Kanalhäfen wurde diese Karte an Land gegeben, damit sie von einem Schiff in Gegenrichtung migenommen werden konnte. Damit erreichte die Postkarte ihr Ziel in den USA schneller.

Oben links Ankunftsstempel von Bronxville, N. Y. am 03.09.1906.
Überfrankierte Inlandspostkarte nach St. Louis, Mo. (Inland, 1 Cent), gestempelt am 27.06.1907 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Amerika“ der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Handstempel auf der Fahrt von New York nach Cuxhaven einen Tag vor dem erreichen der Kanalhäfen. Die Nummer im Killer ist eine 15.

Ausgelaufen aus New York am 20.06.1907 erreichte der Dampfer die Kanalhäfen am 28.06.1907 und Cuxhaven am 30.06.1907.
Überfrankierter Inlandsbrief nach Cincinnati, Ohio (Inland, 2 Cent), gestempelt am 16.07.1910 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Amerika“ der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Handstempel auf der Fahrt von New York nach Cuxhaven einen Tag vor dem erreichen der Kanalhäfen. Die Nummer im Killer ist eine 15.

Ausgelaufen aus New York am 09.07.1910 erreichte der Dampfer die Kanalhäfen am 16.07.1910 und Cuxhaven am 17.07.1910.
Korrekt frankierter Auslandsbrief nach Kienzberg in Böhmen (Ausland, 5 Cent), gestempelt am 30.10.1910 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Amerika“ der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Handstempel auf der Fahrt von New York nach Cuxhaven einen Tag vor dem erreichen von Cuxhaven. Die Nummer im Killer ist eine 15.

Ausgelaufen aus New York am 22.10.1910 erreichte der Dampfer die Kanalhäfen am 30.10.1910 und Cuxhaven am 31.10.1910.
Überfrankierte Inlandspostkarte. Porto nach Connecticut (Inland, 1 Cent), gestempelt am 21.06.1914 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Vaterland“ der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Duplex-Handstempel auf der drittletzten Fahrt vor dem Krieg von New York nach Cuxhaven beim erreichen der Kanalhäfen. Die Nummer im Killer ist eine 18.

Dort an Land gegeben, um mit einem Schiff der Gegenrichtung nach New York gebracht zu werden. Verließ New York am 16.06.1914 und erreichte Cuxhaven am 23.06.1914.
Korrekt frankierte Inlandspostkarte, aber falsch mit Nachporto versehen (Tax-Stempel - mit derselben Nummer (17), wie der Duplex-Stempel), nach San Jose, Cal. (Inland, 1 Cent), gestempelt am 08.08.1912 an Bord des Dampfers „S.S. Auguste Victoria“ der Hamburg Amerika Linie mit Handstempel auf der Fahrt von New York nach Cuxhaven einen Tag vor dem erreichen der Kanalhäfen. Die Nummer im Killer ist eine 17.

Ausgelaufen aus New York am 01.08.1912 erreichte der Dampfer die Kanalhäfen am 09.08.1912 und Cuxhaven am 10.08.1912.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021