US German Sea Post 1924 - 1939

The joint sea mail service, the "US German Sea Post," was resumed in 1924 after a hiatus due to World War I. The terms and contents of the contract were the same as before WW I.

Postal employees of both countries sailed on the ships. Leading were in direction of New York the German officials and in the direction of Germany the American officials. As before the World War I, German postmarks and franking were used in the direction of New York and in the direction of Germany American franking and postmarks were used. The postmarks were assigned to the individual ships.

Now, however, not only ships of HAPAG and Norddeutscher Lloyd sailed in this service, but also American ships of the "United States Line". This sea post service ended in 1939 due to the outbreak of World War II.
  • No. 1 - S.S. AMERICA (USL) 1927 to 14. Sep. 1931
  • No. 2 - S.S. GEO. WASHINGTON (USL) 1926 to Nov. 27, 1931
  • No. 3 - S.S. PRES. ROOSEVELT (USL) 1926 to 08 Sept. 1939
  • No. 4 - S.S. PRES. HARDING (USL) 1926 to 21 Oct. 1939
  • No. 5 - S.S. COLUMBUS (NGL) 1926 to 28 Jun 1939
  • No. 6 - S.S. MINNEKAHDA (USL) 1926 to 03. July 1931
  • No. 7 - S.S. ALBERT BALLIN (HAPAG) 1926 to 1935 (renamed HANSA)
  • No. 8 - S.S. DEUTSCHLAND (HAPAG) 1927 to 30. June 1939
  • No. 9 - S.S. NEW YORK (HAPAG) 1929 to 05. June 1930
  • No. 10 - S.S. LEVIATHAN (USL) 1927 to 05. May 1928
  • No. 11 - S.S. STUTTGART (NGL) 1927 to 1928
  • No. 12 - S.S. BERLIN (NDL) 1927 to 1929
  • No. 13 -
  • No. 14 - S.S. HAMBURG (HAPAG) 1927 to 23. June 1939
Later there were also stamps without number in the killer but only bars.

From 10. August 1932 (S.S. MANHATTAN - USL) untilm 22. October 1939, and from 10. May 1933 (S.S. WASHINGTON - USL). until 12 Oct 1939, the first machine stamps were used on board.

There was one more special feature on two ships of the NGL, the "Bremen" and the "Europa", - the "skidding flight" or "catapult flight". In this case, catapults were installed for an aircraft on board and in advance flight (up to 1,600 km before NEW YORK/BREMERHAVEN) the mail to the port. The time saved was between one and four days.
The first flight took place on 22. July 1929 from the steamer BREMEN. At the end of 1935 this "service"ended because of the emergence of the Zeppelins.

Source references:

Cockrill, Handbook No. 54
Häger, Großes Lexikon der Philatelie


Covers from HAPAG ships

Foreign cover franked as required with postmark type A13 to Cockrill with the number 7 in the killer. Postmarked April 21, 1932 aboard the steamer "ALBERT BALLIN". Addressed to London, England.
As required franked letter, printed matter, collector's cover with postmark type A13 to Cockrill with the number 8 in the killer. Postmarked January 12, 1929 aboard the steamer "DEUTSCHLAND". Addressed to Philadelphia, Pa.
Reverse side with stamp "Without contents" and the Sea Post No. 8 (as in killer).
As required franked domestic postal stationery, collector's cover with postmark type A14 to Cockrill with the number 14 in the killer. Postmarked September 15, 1927 aboard the steamer "HAMBURG". Addressed to Hoboken, N.J.
As required franked domestic postcard, collector's cover with type A16 postmark to Cockrill without number in the killer. Postmarked September 24, 1931 aboard the steamer "NEW YORK". Addressed to Philadelphia, Pa.
Overstamped domestic cover, collector's cover with type A16 postmark to Cockrill without number in killer. Postmarked 02 November 1933 aboard the steamer "NEW YORK". Addressed to Syracuse, N.Y.




Covers from USL ships

Foreign postcard franked as required with postmark type A13 to Cockrill with the number 1 in the killer. Postmarked July 15, 1930 aboard the steamer "AMERICA". Addressed to Voorburg, Holland.
As required franked domestic postcard with postmark type A13 to Cockrill with the number 2 in the killer. Postmarked December 17, 1930 aboard the steamer "GEO. WASHINGTON." Addressed to Massachusetts.
Overstamped foreign mail cover, commercial cover with postmark type A13 to Cockrill with the number 3 in the killer. Postmarked 11 September 1929 aboard the steamer "PRES. ROOSEVELT". Addressed to Bremerhaven, Germany.
Foreign postcard franked as required with postmark type A13 to Cockrill with the number 4 in the killer. Postmarked March 15, 1931 aboard the steamer "PRES. HARDING". Addressed to Gimmeldingen, Germany.

Also, this is a dinner menu card, which allowed this to be mailed as a postcard (folded, of course).
Reverse side with the menu card and an advertisement for the USL ships.
As required franked foreign cover with postmark A16 to Cockrill without number. Postmarked April 24, 1931 aboard the steamer "LEVIATHAN". Addressed to Paris, France. Forwarded to a hotel in Savoré(?).
As required franked domestic cover, "Special Delivery", from the first voyage, with postmark A16 to Cockrill without number. Postmarked May 10, 1933 aboard the steamer "WASHINGTON." Addressed to Chicago, Ill.
Reverse: RPO postmark and three other postmarks from various Chicago post offices.
Cover flown to New York with "Schleuderflug". As required franked domestic cover with additional franking for the "Schleuderflug", collector's cover. Outward trip by steamer "WASHINGTON", cancelled with type A16 postmark to Cockrill without number on May 10, 1933.
Return trip with the steamer of the NDL "EUROPA", cancelled on 28 May 1933.
Foreign cover franked as required with postmark A18 to Cockrill. Postmarked on 19 January 1939 aboard the steamer "MANHATTAN" with a machine cancel. Addressed to Finistere, France.
Foreign cover franked as required with postmark A18 to Cockrill. Postmarked on 26 May 1933 aboard the steamer "WASHINGTON" with a machine cancel. Addressed to Baltimore, Maryland.
Postage paid letter from the "Post Office Department (U.S. Sea Post Service)". Postmarked aboard the steamer "PRES. ROOSEVELT" with postmark type A13 to Cockrill with the number 3 in the killer, on July 14, 1931. Addressed to the postmaster at Boston, Mass.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021

US German Sea Post 1924 - 1939

Der gemeinsame Seepostdienst, die "US German Sea Post", wurde nach einer Pause durch den 1. Weltkrieg im Jahre 1924 wieder aufgenommen. Die Bedingungen und Vertragsinhalte waren dieselben, wie vor dem WW I.

Es fuhren Postbedienstete beider Länder auf den Schiffen mit. Federführend waren in Richtung New York die deutschen Beamten und in Richtung Deutschland die amerikanischen Bediensteten. Wie vor dem 1. Weltkrieg wurden Richtung New York deutsche Stempel und Frankatur verwendet und in Richtung Deutschland amerikanische Frankatur und Stempel. Die Stempel waren den einzelnen Schiffen zugeordnet.

Jetzt fuhren aber in diesem Dienst nicht mehr nur Schiffe der HAPAG und des Norddeutschen Lloyd, sondern auch amerikanische Schiffe der "United States Line". Diese Seepost endete im Jahre 1939 durch den Ausbruch des 2. Weltkriegs.
  • Nr. 1 - S.S. AMERICA (USL) 1927 bis 14.09.1931
  • Nr. 2 - S.S. GEO. WASHINGTON (USL) 1926 bis 27.11.1931
  • Nr. 3 - S.S. PRES. ROOSEVELT (USL) 1926 bis 08.09.1939
  • Nr. 4 - S.S. PRES. HARDING (USL) 1926 bis 21.10.1939
  • Nr. 5 - S.S. COLUMBUS (NDL) 1926 bis 28.06.1939
  • Nr. 6 - S.S. MINNEKAHDA (USL) 1926 bis 03.07.1931
  • Nr. 7 - S.S. ALBERT BALLIN (HAPAG) 1926 bis 1935 (umbenannt in HANSA)
  • Nr. 8 - S.S. DEUTSCHLAND (HAPAG) 1927 bis 30.06.1939
  • Nr. 9 - S.S. NEW YORK (HAPAG) 1929 bis 05.06.1930
  • Nr. 10 - S.S. LEVIATHAN (USL) 1927 bis 05.05.1928
  • Nr. 11 - S.S. STUTTGART (NDL) 1927 bis 1928
  • Nr. 12 - S.S. BERLIN (NDL) 1927 bis 1929
  • Nr. 13 -
  • Nr. 14 - S.S. HAMBURG (HAPAG) 1927 bis 23.06.1939
Später gab es auch Stempel ohne Nummer im Killer sondern nur Balken.

Ab dem 10.08.1932 (S.S. MANHATTAN - USL) bis zumm 22.10.1939, und ab dem 10.05.1933 (S.S. WASHINGTON - USL) bis zum 12.10.1939 wurden die ersten Maschinenstempel an Bord benutzt.

Es gab noch eine Besonderheit bei zwei Schiffen des NDL, die "Bremen" und die "Europa", - den "Schleuderflug" oder "Katapultflug". Dabei wurden Katapulte für ein Flugzeug an Bord installiert und im Vorausflug (bis zu 1.600 Km vor NEW YORK/BREMERHAVEN) die Post in den Hafen gebracht. Der Zeitgewinn betrug zwischen einem und vier Tagen.
Der erste Flug fand am 22.07.1929 vom Dampfer BREMEN statt. Ende 1935 wurde dieser "Dienst" wegen dem Aufkommen der Zeppeline eingestellt.

Quellen:

Cockrill, Handbook No. 54
Häger, Großes Lexikon der Philatelie


Belege von HAPAG-Schiffen

Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Auslandsbrief mit Stempel Typ A13 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 7 im Killer. Gestempelt am 21. April 1932 an Bord des Dampfers "ALBERT BALLIN". Adressiert nach London, England.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Brief, Drucksache, Sammlerbeleg mit Stempel Typ A13 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 8 im Killer. Gestempelt am 12. Januar 1929 an Bord des Dampfers "DEUTSCHLAND". Adressiert nach Philadelphia, Pa.
Rückseite mit Stempel "Ohne Inhalt" und der Seepost Nr. 8 (wie im Killer).
Bedarfsgerecht frankierte Inlandsganzsache, Sammlerbeleg mit Stempel Typ A14 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 14 im Killer. Gestempelt am 15. September 1927 an Bord des Dampfers "HAMBURG". Adressiert nach Hoboken, N.J.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierte Inlandspostkarte, Sammlerbeleg mit Stempel Typ A16 nach Cockrill ohne Nummer im Killer. Gestempelt am 24. September 1931 an Bord des Dampfers "NEW YORK". Adressiert nach Philadelphia, Pa.
Überfrankierter Inlandsbrief, Sammlerbeleg mit Stempel Typ A16 nach Cockrill ohne Nummer im Killer. Gestempelt am 02. November 1933 an Bord des Dampfers "NEW YORK". Adressiert nach Syracuse, N.Y.




Belege von USL-Schiffen

Bedarfsgerecht frankierte Auslandspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A13 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 1 im Killer. Gestempelt am 15. Juli 1930 an Bord des Dampfers "AMERICA". Adressiert nach Voorburg, Holland.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierte Inlandspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A13 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 2 im Killer. Gestempelt am 17. Dezember 1930 an Bord des Dampfers "GEO. WASHINGTON". Adressiert nach Massachusetts.
Überfrankierter Auslandspostbrief, Bedarfsbrief mit Stempel Typ A13 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 3 im Killer. Gestempelt am 11. September 1929 an Bord des Dampfers "PRES. ROOSEVELT". Adressiert nach Bremerhaven, Deutschland.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierte Auslandspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A13 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 4 im Killer. Gestempelt am 15. März 1931 an Bord des Dampfers "PRES. HARDING". Adressiert nach Gimmeldingen, Deutschland.

Außerdem ist dieses eine Dinner Menue-Karte, womit diese als Postkarte verschickt werden konnte (natürlich zusammengefaltet).
Rückseite mit der Menue-Karte und einer Werbung für die Schiffe der USL.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Auslandsbrief mit Stempel A16 nach Cockrill ohne Nummer. Gestempelt am 24. April 1931 an Bord des Dampfers "LEVIATHAN". Adressiert nach Paris, Frankreich. Weitergeleitet in ein Hotel in Savoré(?).
Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Inlandsbrief, "Special Delivery", von der ersten Fahrt, mit Stempel A16 nach Cockrill ohne Nummer. Gestempelt am 10. Mai 1933 an Bord des Dampfers "WASHINGTON". Adressiert nach Chicago, Ill.
Rückseite: RPO-Stempel und drei weitere Stempel von verschiedenen Postämtern in Chicago.
Brief mit "Schleuderflug" nach New York geflogen. Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Inlandsbrief mit zusätzlicher Frankatur für den "Schleuderflug", Sammlerbeleg. Hinfahrt mit dem Dampfer "WASHINGTON", gestempelt mit Stempel Typ A16 nach Cockrill ohne Nummer am 10. Mai 1933.
Rückfahrt mit dem Dampfer des NDL "EUROPA", gestempelt am 28. Mai 1933.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Auslandsbrief mit Stempel A18 nach Cockrill. Gestempelt am 19. Januar 1939 an Bord des Dampfers "MANHATTAN" mit einem Maschinenstempel. Adressiert nach Finistere, Frankreich.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Inlandsbrief mit Stempel A18 nach Cockrill, Sammlerbeleg. Gestempelt am 26. Mai 1933 an Bord des Dampfers "WASHINGTON" mit einem Maschinenstempel. Adressiert nach Baltimore, Maryland.
Portofreier Brief des "Post Office Department (U.S. Sea Post Service)". Gestempelt an Bord des Dampfers "PRES. ROOSEVELT" mit Stempel Typ A13 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 3 im Killer, am 14. Juli 1931. Adressiert an den Postmeister in Boston, Mass.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021